A Horse

Drawing people and animals was never my forte.  I can’t seem to capture the life which living things seem to hold.  Proportions and lines become thrown off and the drawing always ends in disaster.  I decided to give it another whack, and I think it turned out alright, though the horse’s proportions seem to be closer to that of a greyhounds.43

Technically I didn’t draw life, as I drew this from a photo taken over one hundred years ago.  The horse is quite dead, unless it has broken some remarkable record.

12 thoughts on “A Horse

  1. Drawing horses are difficult to draw, especially the legs. If you are fortunate to live near horses, it helps to watch them and if you are able to pet or groom one, do it because it helps with connecting the dots. I think that you did a pretty good job, keep at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your humor !

    On Sat, Feb 25, 2017 at 5:47 PM, The Sketch Book wrote:

    > Harrison Monahan posted: “Drawing people and animals was never my forte. > I can’t seem to capture the life which living things seem to hold. > Proportions and lines become thrown off and the drawing always ends in > disaster. I decided to give it another whack, and I think it turned” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

