A Rather Large Painting

I was asked if I would be able to paint a mural for my church’s Vacation Bible School.  The theme was Medieval, and I had to come up with something along those lines.  A castle was the obvious choice for the mural, but I didn’t want it to be one of those cheap, whimsical, and unrealistic affairs.  At the same time, I didn’t want it to be too realistic and creepy for the children.  So I settled for a classic castle front with warm, sunny, inviting tones to keep things cheery.

Here’s the outline sketch:

1

The canvas I chose was 12 ft. tall and 15 ft. long.   I discovered that the mural was much too tall, but somehow I painted it just right that, in the end, everything turned out just fine.

This was after two days:

2

At this point I was frightened that I wouldn’t finish in time.  It was my first time painting a mural, and I worried that I had miscalculated the amount of time it would take to complete.  However, the next two days went very fast, and this was the final product:

3

This is the painting hung.  You can see that the drawbridge drags on the ground somewhat. I believe the effect is more three-dimensional than it would have been had it not been dragging.

4

Painting the mural was tiring, but fun.  The children love it, and I’m excited to do more, hopefully, in the future.

15 thoughts on “A Rather Large Painting

Leave a Reply

