Second Attempts

I’ve only ever worked with oil paints once before.  I was thirteen and thoroughly horrified to find that my painting took a week to dry.  I never used them since, as I was too impatient to deal with a wet painting sitting around, but then I received an order for a painting of sunflowers and knew watercolors wouldn’t cut it.  I desperately searched for my acrylics, but found none. What I did find was the set of oil paints I had banished.  Now a bit more experienced, I  worked with the oil paint and found it quite a useful and forgiving media, despite its long dry time. sunflower-3I believe I have found a new friend among the choices of paints, and it may be possible that you’ll be seeing more oil paintings, although right now I don’t have the time to wait for them to dry.

18 thoughts on “Second Attempts

  1. Harrison, they are beautiful You must be patient , maybe a lesson the Lord has for you, keep at it

    Happy New Year, Grammy

    On Sat, Dec 31, 2016 at 3:43 PM, The Sketch Book wrote:

    > Harrison Monahan posted: “I’ve only ever worked with oil paints once > before. I was thirteen and thoroughly horrified to find that my painting > took a week to dry. I never used them since, as I was too impatient to > deal with a wet painting sitting around, but then I received an or” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

