Under the Stairs

We recently had to replace our home’s sixty year old stairs.  There were many cracks and slits in them that my siblings and I slid things through.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones.  After tearing up the first step, my mother found piles of paper, hundreds of sewing needles, a cigar box lid, and many dust bunnies.  Among the papers was a complete set of paper dolls, and Rummy cards from the 1930’s or 1940’s.  They were done in an animal theme with four suites: Elephants, Giraffes, Kangaroos, and Zebras.  I only found the giraffe, elephant, and kangaroo cards.  (Research later revealed the fourth suite to be the Zebra)   Here they are:14

11

I have to say, the kangaroo is truly terrifying.  I believe the artist may have had a run in with one, and after that all kangaroos looked, to him, very frightening. 12

I decided that I would try to copy the Giraffe Card.  Here it is:1[6]

It’s not an exact copy, nor entirely perfect, but I think it worked out.

7 thoughts on “Under the Stairs

Leave a Reply

